Commercial Premises |Published on: Apr 17, 2018|Categories: Images of Old Oxton| William Male arrived at 2 Rosemount in 1881 to start a 40 year stay as William Male and SonsThe Queen’s Arms, Storeton Rd. Thomas Hughes (of Hughes Lane) was publican from 1845, followed by his son, also Thomas, in 1874. (Picture is modern interpretation)Adams’ Butchers, 10 Claughton Firs. The business was started here c. 1909 by George Henry AdamsSwan Hill Dairy, built 1931, employed 60 people and supplied milk to 40,000 Wirral householdsThe old HSBC bank at the centre of the villageSwan Hotel, Holm Lane. A beerhouse was run here from 1864 by Hugh Swan and then by his wife Betty to the 1880’sBoot Repairers, Prices Lane, date unknownWellington Road Post OfficeWilliam Male & SonsConfectioner’s, 37 Rose Mount, owned by the Peever family from 1914. They also owned a dairy at no. 35Wellington Road shops 1927. There was a draper, butcher, grocer, cycle dealer, fruiterer, chemist, confectioner, florist and dairymanHenderson’s Nursery, Village Road. An Oxton landmark from 1850 to World War II. Latterly occupied land where Talbot Court now standsSaid to be inside Wellington Road chemist shop, owned by several pharmacists over the years, including Arthur EllithorneAdams’ Butchers, 1 Rose Mount. The business moved here when it outgrew Claughton Firs premises. It is now the oldest established family business in OxtonTalbot Hotel, Claughton FirsQueen’s ArmsTalbot Hotel, Claughton Firs. Built between 1847 & 1875 in a curve round the bend between Rose Mount and Claughton Firs. Demolished 1967, rebuilt 1969 as Oxton Arms < Back to Main Images Page For more fascinating information about the history of the commercial premises in Oxton visit the Historical Shopkeepers of Oxton Facebook page.